One in Five Texas Vehicles Are Uninsured; Drivers Pay More in Coverage
According to the latest figures released by the Texas Department of Insurance (TDI), there are approximately 4.17 million uninsured Texas drivers; over 21 percent are uninsured in Taylor County alone. The number of uninsured drivers statewide has fluctuated, but has generally been on the increase since 2009. Unfortunately, according to the TDI, this forces state drivers to purchase optional insurance to protect themselves from uninsured or underinsured motorists in Texas.
Texas Auto Insurance Requirements
The state of Texas requires drivers carry a minimum level of auto insurance. This includes:
- $30,000 for each injured person
- $60,000 total per accident
- $25,000 for property damage
This equates to about $400 per year for the average Texas driver, but can vary based on the make and model of the vehicle.
Inadequate Minimum Standards
However, with increasing cost of medical care, these minimums fall short of providing injured parties sufficient benefit coverage.
Individuals who are hurt can opt to sue the at-fault driver in Texas if that driver did not carry adequate insurance, but this can be costly and time consuming in and of itself and so many simply purchase their own uninsured or underinsured coverage for protection.
One way the state is tackling the issue is via a program called TexasSure. The program currently provides law enforcement with information regarding whether a registered vehicle has valid insurance. The system is updated weekly by insurance providers.
The system, however, seems to be effective. The total number of motorists without insurance has decreased from 24 percent when data was first tracked to 21.6 percent for the state as a whole.