Texas Vehicle Registration & Inspection Changes
This weekend, Tyler is hosting the East Texas Auto and Cycle Show at the Harvey Convention Center. The doors open tonight at 4PM (Friday, February 19th) and the event continues through Sunday, February 21st. For a $10 raffle ticket, you will be entered to possibly win a 1965 Ford Mustang Convertible.
Whether you’re driving a ‘63 Corvette Sting Ray, the ‘65 Ford Mustang Convertible you won in the raffle, or a brand new Ford F-150, all vehicles on the road are required to be registered and to pass inspection every year. However, there are some changes in the process that you should know about.
In the past, we’ve been required to keep a registration sticker and an inspection sticker in the bottom left corner of our front windshields. Beginning March 1, 2015, the registration sticker and the inspection sticker were combined. Vehicles are no longer issued inspection stickers; your registration sticker now functions both as your vehicle’s registration and inspection stickers.
Car Registration Process
There are minor changes in the way you register your vehicle. As usual, you must have your vehicle inspected and pass the inspection at an approved inspection station. Keep your vehicle inspection report in a safe place with other important records.
To renew your registration, you have 3 options:
- Through mail
- In person at your local tax office
Registration renewal notices are mailed to all registered vehicle owners in Texas. Send the renewal notice, a photocopy of your vehicle insurance card, and the fees (registration fee and $1 mail-in fee) to your local county tax office. If you choose to register in-person, bring your registration notice and proof of insurance with you. To register online, you must provide a credit card in order to pay for the fees.
There are many benefits this new system provides.
- There is one expiration date for your vehicle, making it easier to keep your registration and inspection current
- Beginning March 1, 2016, you will have 90 days to complete the two steps; you must have your vehicle inspected within 80 days before your sticker expires
- You’ll only have to change one sticker, making removal easier and providing you with improved visibility
While it may take some adjusting to, this new Texas two steps, one sticker program will be more convenient for Texas drivers in the long run. Make sure you register correctly; you don’t want to be pulled over or involved in an automobile accident with an unregistered vehicle. If you win the ‘65 Mustang this weekend, register the vehicle before you go for a ride.
If you’ve been injured in an automobile accident with an unregistered vehicle or uninsured driver, contact Colley & Colley law firm in Tyler, Texas for a free consultation. We’re dedicated to providing you with the best legal counsel in East Texas.