Working for justice, one client at a time

  • No pressure to continue beyond the consult
  • Consultation is 100 percent free of charge
  • Work with an experienced legal specialist

Awards & Recognitions


  • $3,000,000

    Defective car
    seat injury

  • $2,500,000

    Auto Defect resulting
    in death

  • $3,000,000

    defective prescription

  • $1,600,000

    Motorcycle injury

Recent Case Results


Defective Car Seat Injury


Auto Defect resulting in death


defective prescription


Motorcycle injury

1 Step 1
Need Help?

Free Case Review

Nameyour full name
Phoneyour full name
Briefly describe your casemore details
0 /
FormCraft - WordPress form builder

Related Articles

Austin Car Accident Frequently Asked Questions

The most frequently asked questions we hear concerning Austin car accidents have to do with financial responsibility and what to do following a car accident. Learning about the details of Texas laws concerning car accidents and knowing how to proceed are important, but you should contact our office if you are involved in a car accident and need help.

Is Texas a no-fault insurance state?

No, Texas is not a no-fault state. In Austin, Dallas, and every other city in Texas, you are required to have appropriate insurance coverage before you ever get behind the wheel of a car and drive it on a road. Instead, Texas is considered an at-fault or fault state. Drivers who get into accidents and who are determined to have been at fault may be held liable for the damages, along with their insurance companies.

Do I have to file a police report?

It is always a good idea to contact the police immediately after you are in an accident. Even if you think the injuries or damages are minor, having a police report can help in dealing with insurance companies and the courts afterward.

As far as the law is concerned, if there isn't documentation, it could be more difficult to prove that the accident took place. Documentation from local authorities often carries more weight than an independent recounting of the accident.

However, even if you don’t get a police report, it doesn’t mean you won’t able to seek compensation for the accident.

What are the most common causes of car accidents in Texas?

The Texas Department of Transportation lists failure to control a vehicle’s speed as the most common cause of car accidents. Failure to complete evasive maneuvers is a close second. In some cases, driver inattentiveness is the only reason a car accident has happened, which indicates that many of the accidents that take place in Texas can be prevented.

What if I am partially at fault for the accident?

Figuring out the details of a car accident immediately afterward can be overwhelming. You are not only dealing with the pain of injuries but also the stress of the car accident itself. It might be difficult for you to determine just exactly who caused your accident.

Our lawyers at Colley Firm P.C. can discuss your accident with you, answer your questions, and help you determine the best way to move forward, depending on your circumstances. If you are unsure, however, it’s best to take a breath and avoid accepting the blame for the accident until we’ve had a chance to evaluate the details.

Can I get compensation for a hit-and-run?

While hit-and-run accidents can be frustrating simply because you don’t know exactly who hit you, it doesn’t mean that your situation is hopeless. If you have been in an accident that was caused by someone else’s negligence and they then disappeared from the scene, you could still be entitled to compensation. You will need our experienced lawyers to help you track down and hold the right person responsible.

What if the other driver didn’t have insurance?

Although drivers are required to carry insurance, some don’t and simply drive illegally anyway. If your accident was caused by someone who was either underinsured or not insured at all, you could still be able to get compensation for your injuries and damages. It can be more difficult dealing with someone who doesn’t have insurance, but our lawyers are experienced and can help you navigate the process.

Do I have to talk to the other driver’s insurance company?

You don’t have to, and in most instances it would be best that you refer them to our office. You can simply let them know you aren’t comfortable discussing the accident with them. Otherwise, you risk making agreements and statements that could potentially harm your case.

All drivers should know some of the basic facts when it comes to the rules of the road and things they can do to avoid being in a car accident. However, if you are in an accident, don't rely solely on the information we have provided in our Austin car accident frequently asked questions to guide you. Each accident and case varies, and you’ll need our experienced lawyers to iron out every detail.

If you or a loved one has been in a car accident or has other questions regarding an accident, contact us online or call us toll-free at 1-844-325-9290 for a free case evaluation.